Shiok

December 29, 2006

This review is also available on burrp!

Absolutely fabulous food in a classy ambiance with wonderful service – that sums up my experience at Shiok.

Shiok serves food from Singapore, Thailand, China, Malaysia and Indonesia and it sure tastes as authentic as what you would get there. For starters, I asked the steward for his recommendation and decided on the Pomfret in Drunken Sauce. Drunken sauce is a Thai sauce made with chillies, basil, garlic, white pepper and oyster sauce and it was delicious. The pomfret was crisp and fresh and knocked our socks off. I highly recommend this dish for a taste of heaven! For the main course, we ordered steamed rice and Sumatra fish curry, which is an Indonesian curry. It was delicious. Dessert was tiramisu – yummy! Shiok has a wide range of very exotic cocktails, mocktails and imported liquor. My cosmopolitan was very good.

The restaurant section at Shiok has an outdoorsy feel to it, while the lounge area section with its spiffy red walls and dark upholstery has a very warm and upscale flavour. The atmosphere was very comfortable and seemed to very easily accommodate a range of people – there were families, couples on a romantic date, friends chilling out, even a lone diner; and everyone seemed to be having a good time.

The service was really good –and took me completely by surprise. The steward and the waiter took the trouble to help us with our choices. We were wondering whether to order the crab when the waiter actually brought out the live crab to show us.

My complaint – the bathrooms were smelly. I told the waiter, who did get it cleaned immediately.

Shiok is located at 2nd Floor, #12, CMH Road, Indiranagar, Bangalore, ph: 41161800. It is open from 12 pm to 3:30 pm and from 7:30 pm to 11:30 pm. I was lucky enough to find parking directly outside on the crowded road but the website says that plenty of parking is available opposite the restaurant. A meal for two with a drink each is approximately Rs.850.

 

4 Responses to “Shiok”

  1. Madhu Says:

    Thank you for your review. I am glad you had a good time. In case you didn’t try the crab in Singapore black pepper sauce, I recommend it as one of our signature dishes.

    I am really sorry if the bathrooms were smelly. I am very particular about keeping clean bathrooms and will have it looked into. I know we had an issue with a drain blockage for a couple of days a while back which I think has now been fixed.


  2. Will visit again and try the crab… it sounds good!

  3. Gautam Says:

    Agree. The food is excellent. I was very impressed with the staff. Attentive and helpful and yet not intrusive.

  4. Tara Says:

    Shiok happens to be one of my favorites too! In fact, at one point of time I was there for dinner practically everyday. And then i tired of the food.

    But i went again last night and had some really lovely Bhetki fish in Chilli Basil sauce with Steamed rice. Really sublime!

    We also had the Singapore Black Pepper Prawns. Sauce was awesome but the prawns itself were not well-done. Seemed too squishy for my liking. Maybe i’ll ask the chef if he can cook it some more next time!

    The fragrant prawns is another dish that gets 2 thumbs up from me!


Leave a Reply

